Registration Requirements and Forms

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the secretary has amended the DEQ Air Regulations, LAC 33:III.Chapter 59 (AQ157).

This rule adds up-front registration requirements for all stationary sources that are subject to Louisiana's chemical accident prevention rule, LAC 33:III.Chapter 59. It also repeals the existing "state-only" registration which required more detailed information from only the major stationary sources. There is no up-front registration required by the federal rule, 40 CFR Part 68. The state's up-front registration is necessary for determining which facilities are subject to the rule so that sufficient funds can be obtained through the fee system to improve implementation of the program.

The owner or operator of each stationary source that has a covered process as defined by 40 CFR 68.3 shall register with the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality, Assessment Division, Accident Prevention Section.

When a facility should register:

  1. All facilities that are currently subject to Chapter 59 were required to register by January 31, 1998.
  2. After December 3, 1997, all facilities which become subject to Chapter 59 will be required to register within 60 days after the date on which a stationary source has the regulated chemical present above its threshold quantity.
  3. Those facilities previously registered before December 3, 1997 will need to re-register.
  4. Newly subject facilities shall register within 60 days from the daye that a threshold quantity of a subject chemical becomes located on the site per LAC 33:III.Chapter 59 section 5911.



Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 602 N. Fifth Street Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Call or e-mail a hotline · Office Address/Phone listing · Locate a DEQ employee
Call 1-866-896-LDEQ or e-mail our Customer Service Center with questions or comments